Orchestral Tools Berlin Strings [27 DVD]

$375.00 $179.95
Product Type: Kontakt format
Orchestral Tools Berlin Strings [27 DVD]

Orchestral Tools Berlin Strings [27 DVD]


  • First True Adaptive Legato (including 4 legato types: Slurred, Agile (scripted), Fast Runs and Portamento)
  • Up to 24x RR Spiccatos
  • Extensive collection of different short notes
  • Playable Runs and pre-recorded octave runs (tempo synced)
  • Smaller Sections for more definition and detail
  • 4 Mic Positions + Concert Master Mic (Violins I only)
  • Bow Stroke Control (soft, immediate, accented)
  • Up to 3 different vibrato expressions
  • Ostinato Arp Legato (fast leg 6RR and slow leg 3RRs true legato)


Tech Specs

  • 121 GB of samples in NCW format (254 GB uncompressed)
  • 24 Bit / 48KHz Patches
  • Works with the free Kontakt Player 5.3+ or Kontakt 5.3+

Adaptive Legato Engine

Berlin Strings features an innovative new legato system which analyzes your performance to choose between four different types of legato:

  • Slurred expressive legato
  • Agile, fast legato (scripted)
  • fast runs legato
  • portamento


With velocity you have control over different captured bow stroke intensities (soft attack, immediate attack, accented attack). With the sustain pedal you can add a soft decay to end a phrase. These release samples have been specifically recorded.

Additionally, the faster you play the more blurred the intonation will turn out - like in a real string performance. These blurred intonation effects will be created by specifically sampled articulations.

Via a CC of your choice you can switch between different vibrato expressions.

Please view our screencast "CHAPTER II: Legato" to get further information.

Sections and their Sizes

For Berlin Strings we decided to choose smaller section sizes to keep the definition and vibrato details in the sampled patches.
Several crossfading techniques (dynamic layers, legatos fade scripts, vibrato fading) or playing more than one voice leads to a bigger and pad-like undefined string sound. With smaller sections we´re trying to take this effect into calculation to end up with a detailed, expressive orchestral string section.

Berlin Strings includes the following sections:

  • 1st Violins (8 players)
  • 2nd Violins (6 players)
  • Violas (5 players)
  • Celli (5 players)
  • Basses (4 players)


Bow Noise & Blurred Artics

Bow Noise
Add natural cc controllable bow noise for additional expressiveness.

New: Blurred Articulations
We recorded special untuned and blurred articulations, which you can blend as a sonic color to change the impression of the intonation in a phrase.

String Runs
Berlin Strings will offer playable runs patches, as well as pre-recorded octave runs, which adapt automatically to your host tempo.

The Room

Our vision is a full, very extensively sampled orchestra at Teldex. After Berlin Woodwinds, which became one of the most professionally used woodwind sample libraries in the world, Berlin Strings is our next step towards realizing this vision.

The library was recorded in one of the best sounding scoring stages in Europe with a fantastic complement of legendary microphones catapulting Berlin Strings on a new level of orchestral string sampling.

The large recording stage at Teldex looks back on a long tradition of many well-known and Grammy® award-winning recordings. Famous orchestras, like the Berlin Philharmonics and great film composers from the USA and Europe trust and love the wide and clear acoustics of this room.

You may also find more information about this product on manufacturer's website.

You may buy Orchestral Tools Berlin Strings [27 DVD] or download it from our website.
This product was released on 30 Jun 2014. Please check compatibility with your hardware and O/S.

Tag Icon Tags: Orchestra, Strings
Add to cart
  • Reviews

  • Write a Review

Your Review:

Best Products From This Categorie

Similar Products

Customers Also Ordered